Report of the Curator of the William S. Vaux Collections, December 1, 1918.

Efforts during the past year, in the direction of securing as many rare and unusual species as possible, have resulted in the addition of no less than 127 species not hitherto represented in the William S. Vaux collection, of which number 87 were purchased and 40 selected from the Drown collection.

This brings the total number of distinct species in the collection up to 804, not including meteorites, hydrocarbons, varieties or doubtful species.

Altogether the number of accessions during the year exceeded 800, of which 104 were purchased, 700 derived from the Drown collection, 3 presented by Mr. Thomas Harvey and 3 presented by Mr. Samuel G. Gordon, who has continued his valuable services in caring for the collection.

Respectfully submitted,

F. J. Keeley, Curator Wm. S. Vaux Collection.

REPORTS OF THE SECTIONS.

BIOLOGICAL AND MICROSCOPICAL SECTION.—The Section held six stated meetings during the year, a reduction of the usual number due to war regulations and the influenza epidemic.

Communications on various subjects were made by members, among whom may be mentioned Messrs. T. C. Palmer, Hugo Bilgram, Dr. Thomas S. Stewart, F. J. Keeley, B. F. Ray, Walter Palmer, Dr. L. A. Faught and C. S. Boyer.

The following officers were elected for the year 1919:

DirectorJ. Cheston Morris, M.D.Vice-DirectorT. Chalkley Palmer.Recorder and Corresponding SecretaryCharles S. Boyer.TreasurerThomas S. Stewart, M.D.ConservatorF. J. Keeley.

CHARLES S. BOYER, Recorder.

Entomological Section.—Six stated meetings were held during the year, with an average attendance of eleven persons. The deaths of Erich Daecke, a contributor, and Benjamin H. Smith, a member, were announced. Arthur H. Napier and George M. Greene were elected members, and Francis M. James, Louis B. LaPlace, Carl Lorup, A. Reginald Allen and Max Reyher were elected con-

tributors. Interesting communications were made by R. C. Williams, Jr., J. A. G. Rehn, P. P. Calvert, Henry Skinner, Philip Laurent, Herman Hornig, Dr. P. W. Whiting, and Dr. J. Bequaert.

The following officers and committee were elected to serve for 1919:

| Director | Philip Laurent. |
|-----------------------|---------------------|
| Vice-Director | R. C. Williams, Jr. |
| Treasurer | E. T. Cresson. |
| Conservator | Henry Skinner. |
| Secretary | J. A. G. Rehn. |
| Recorder | |
| Publication Committee | 0 |
| | 701 111 70 6: 1 |
| | E. T. Cresson, Jr. |

E. T. Cresson, Jr., Recorder.

Botanical Section.—The following officers were elected to serve during the year 1919:

| Director | Joseph Crawford. |
|---------------|------------------------|
| Vice-Director | Alexander MacElwee. |
| Recorder | John W. Eckfeldt, M.D. |
| Treasurer | Stewardson Brown. |
| Conservator | Stewardson Brown. |

JOHN W. ECKFELDT, M.D., Recorder.

MINERALOGICAL AND GEOLOGICAL SECTION.—The Section held four meetings, with the usual attendance. Prof. Wright discussed the topography of the upper James River; there were also discussions of peat growth, and of Tertiary coal. Other mineralogical and geological matters were discussed.

The Section made six field excursions with an average attendance of eleven. The excursions were not formally announced, but were orally noted. The excursions were all in the crystalline region of Delaware County, except one in that of the Gulph region of Montgomery County.

The deaths of Prof. Carter, Mr. Schumo, Mr. DuBois and Joseph Willcox were announced. They were active members of the Section, and particularly interested in the field excursions. Mr. DuBois was for many years an efficient member of the excursion committee.

Director.....Benjamin Smith Lyman.

Treasurer...... Benjamin Smith Lyman.

Conservator......George Vaux, Jr.

BENJAMIN SMITH LYMAN, Director.

ORNITHOLOGICAL SECTION.—The Section has done much to encourage ornithological activity at the Academy during the year. The meetings of the Delaware Valley Ornithological Club and Pennsylvania Audubon Society have been held in the building and have helped to stimulate interest in this department of the Academy.

At the annual meeting of the Section the following officers were elected for the year 1919:

Director.....Spencer Trotter, M.D.

 Vice-Director
 George Spencer Morris.

 Recorder
 Stewardson Brown.

WITMER STONE, Conservator.

The annual election of Officers, Councillors and members of the Committee on Accounts was held December 17th, with the following result:

President.....John Cadwalader, A.M., LL.D.

VICE-PRESIDENTS......Edwin G. Conklin, Ph.D., Sc.D., Henry Skinner, M.D., Sc.D.

RECORDING SECRETARY......Edward J. Nolan, M.D., Sc.D.

Corresponding Secretary.....J. Percy Moore, Ph.D.

Treasurer......George Vaux, Jr.

LIBRARIAN..... Edward J. Nolan, M.D., Sc.D.

Henry A. Pilsbry, Sc.D., Henry Tucker, M.D.,

Spencer Trotter, M.D. Councillors to serve three years. Philip P. Calvert, Ph.D.,

Frank J. Keeley, Walter Horstmann, T. Chalkley Palmer. Committee on Accounts.......Charles Morris,
Samuel N. Rhoads,
John G. Rothermel,
Thomas S. Stewart, M.D.,
Walter Horstmann.

COUNCIL FOR 1919.

Ex-Officio.—John Cadwalader, A.M., LL.D., Edwin G. Conklin,
Ph.D., Sc.D., Henry Skinner, M.D., Sc.D., Edward J. Nolan,
M.D., Sc.D., J. Percy Moore, Ph.D., George Vaux, Jr., Henry
A. Pilsbry, Sc.D., Witmer Stone, A.M., Sc.D., Henry Tucker,
M.D., Spencer Trotter, M.D.

To serve three years.—Philip P. Calvert, Ph.D., Frank J. Keeley, Walter Horstmann, T. Chalkley Palmer.

To serve two years.—Charles P. Penrose, M.D., LL.D., Ph.D., Charles Morris, Wm. E. Hughes, M.D., Spencer Trotter (elected Curator).

To serve one year.—Edwin S. Dixon, Robert G. LeConte, M.D., George Spencer Morris, Henry Skinner, M.D. (elected Vice-President).

Councillor......George Vaux, Jr. CURATOR OF WILLIAM S. VAUX COL-LECTION......Frank J. Keeley. Stewardson Brown, Edward G. Vanatta, Henry W. Fowler, James A. G. Rehn. Ezra T. Cresson, Jr. AID IN HERBARIUM......Ada Allen. Daniel Hechler,

STANDING COMMITTEES, 1919.

Jacob Aebly, Adam E. Hechler.

Finance.—Effingham B. Morris, John Cadwalader, A.M., LL.D., Edwin S. Dixon, Walter Horstmann, and the Treasurer.